Update for July

July 7, 2012

Dear friends,

I’m headed to Guatemala this weekend primarily to attend the anniversary of the establishment of the school we are supporting in the community of El Triunfo in Guatemala. It was in January 2008 when the school opened with a surprising amount of pomp and ceremony which I’m only now getting used to!

 Since then we’ve been able to support this community as it strives to provide an affordable education to their children. This year’s anniversary celebrations have been scaled down to a three-day festival running from July 18 to 20. I’m expecting much of the same as last year’s five-day event but hopefully with less rain.

I want to thank everyone who responded to my June fundraising appeal. While it looks like we didn’t reach our goal of at least $12,000, I am grateful for the support the appeal received. (I’ll have a final figure next week.)

If you still can contribute, tax deductible donations to the school in El Triunfo can be directed to Pueblito Canada. You can donate online at www.canadahelps.org/CharityProfilePage.aspx?CharityID=25964 (Click on “Donate Now.” Then under “Fund/Designation,” select “El Triunfo School Project.”  Or you can also send a cheque payable to Pueblito Canada to:

Pueblito Canada
@ The Centre for Social Innovation
215 Spadina Avenue
Toronto, ON M5T 2C7
ATTN: El Triunfo School Project

For more information on Pueblito and the other projects they support in Central America, please visit www.pueblito.org.

Later in the month, I’ll send out an update but I will be posting new photos and video as I go along from Guatemala.

Ken

One response to “Update for July

  1. Larry Persic Campus Illinois

    Hello Ken, I ran across your blog while doing some research on textbooks for Guatemalan schools. My wife and I are travelling to Guatemala in November and I have commited to buying some new textbooks for a school and I was hoping that perhaps you could steer me in the right direction on where to purchase them in Guatemala.

    Thanks!, Larry

Leave a Reply

